100% Irish

Area Guide For Kildare

County Kildare is a land locked county in the east of the country and located in the province of Leinster.

County Kildare is home to a number of large, well established towns, these include; Celbridge, Leixlip, Maynooth, Athy, Kildare and Monasterevin. Naas is the county town of Kildare and is the largest town in the County. Newbridge is the second largest town, situated in the centre of the county, near the Curragh plain. It is a thriving and rapidly growing town. You will also find many tranquil, untouched, historic towns and villages in County Kildare such as Robertstown on the banks of the Royal Canal, Ballitore, the first planned Quaker settlement in Europe, Nurney, Kilcullen, Johnstown, Carbury, Enfield and Castledermot.

County Kildare has a wide choice of rivers and canals and is home to the River Barrow, the River Liffey, the Royal Canal and the Grand Canal. The county also has numerous looped walks, trails and distance way-marked ways such as; the Barrow way and the Kildare way.

Kildare is a great sporting county. It is famous worldwide for the quality of horses bred in the many stud farms such as the Irish National Stud and for its race horse training establishments, such as the Osborne Stables. Kildare is home to the Curragh, Punchestown and Naas race courses. All five of Ireland’s Classic Races are hosted at the Curragh each year. Kildare is also well known for its Golf courses. The K Club, near Straffen played host to the Ryder Cup in 2006. Other prominent courses are located at Knockanally, Carton Estate, and Clane. Other major sports in the county are the games of Hurling and Rugby. In GAA Kildare are known as the Lilywhites.

There are many main road routes that run though County Kildare to Dublin. The main routes are; the N4, N7 and N8, which connect Sligo, Limerick and Cork to Dublin and the N9 which connects Kilcullen and Waterford City. County Kildare is served by the trains connecting the Dublin to Munster, South Leinster, and South Connaught, with daily connections to Cork, Waterford, Limerick, and Galway. Dublin commuter train service called the Arrow also services a number of stations including Newbridge, Sallins and Hazelhatch.

Need Help?
Email us: [email protected]
Write to us:
Property Steps Dublin Rd Oldcastle Co.Meath Ireland

Copyright © 2007-2019 Propertysteps.ie, Dublin Rd, Oldcastle, Co. Meath