100% Irish

Area Guide For Meath

County Meath is located in the east of the country in the province of Leinster.

County Meath is firmly on Dublin’s commuter belt and is home to a number of large, well established towns, some of which have seen unprecedented growth in recent years these include; Athboy, Ashbourne, Dunshaughlin, Julianstown, Ratoath, Trim, Kells, Kinnegad and Navan – which is the county town of Meath. Despite huge growth many unspoilt villages still remain, such as Summerhill, Kilmessan, Moynalty, Nobber, Kilbride, Duleek and Bettystown.

There is a huge wealth of history to be found in County Meath. The remnants of times past are scattered throughout the county. To the north of the county is Brú na Bóinne, a Neolithic necropolis comprising of the largest and best preserved passage graves in Europe. Brú na Bóinne is a UNESCO designated World Heritage Site and includes the burial sites of Newgrange, Knowth and Dowth. Nearby is the mystical Hill of Tara, seat of the high kings of Ireland until the 6th century and in the south of the county is the country's largest Norman castle in the heritage town of Trim. Impressive abbeys and castles can also be found in the towns of Bective, Donaghmore, Dunsany and Athlumney.

County Meath is also home to Europe's only official beach horse racing at Laytown and also has two Gaeltacht areas in the county at Ráth Cairn and Baile Ghib.

There are many main road routes that run though County Meath to Dublin City. The main routes are; the N3 and M1, which connect Cavan, Belfast and Dublin. There is a frequent commuter train service to the coastal villages of East Meath, serving Laytown. Navan is currently served by the Dublin-Belfast main line connecting at Drogheda.

Need Help?
Email us: [email protected]
Write to us:
Property Steps Dublin Rd Oldcastle Co.Meath Ireland

Copyright © 2007-2019 Propertysteps.ie, Dublin Rd, Oldcastle, Co. Meath