100% Irish

Area Guide For Tipperary

County Tipperary is located in the province of Munster and is split into two administrative regions, North Tipperary and South Tipperary. The county is home to the River Suir in the south and the river Shannon and Lough Derg in the north. Hill walkers have a wide choice of mountains to choose from in Tipperary including; Slievenamon, the Knockmealdowns, Galtee Mor, the Arra, and the Silvermines and Keeper Hill.

Tipperary is famous for its horse breeding industry and is the home of Coolmore Stud, which is said to be the largest thoroughbred breeding operation in the world. Coolmore Stud has produced some of the most famous race-horses including Rock of Gibraltar, the Duke of Marmalade and Sadler's Wells, Europe's greatest sire.

Tipperary is also the birthplace of the GAA which was founded in Thurles in 1884. The county particularly nurtures the game of hurling and its teams have regularly been All Ireland champions since the 19th century.

County Tipperary has lots of picturesque towns and villages including Carrick on Suir, Cashel, Clonmel, Dundrum, Emily, Fethard, Mullinahone, Roscrea, Templemore, Thurlas and Tipperary Town. The county also has a host of tourist destinations such as the Rock of Cashel and Cahir Castle, the Swiss Cottage, the Tipperary Crystal factory and Holy Cross Abbey.

Road transport dominates in County Tipperary. The M8 motorway from Dublin to Cork runs from the north to the south of the county. The Limerick to Dublin N7 national primary route also crosses the north of the county. In addition, the Limerick to Waterford N24 crosses the southern half of Tipperary. Tipperary also has a number of railway stations situated on the Dublin to Cork and Dublin to Limerick rail lines.

Need Help?
Email us: [email protected]
Write to us:
Property Steps Dublin Rd Oldcastle Co.Meath Ireland

Copyright © 2007-2019 Propertysteps.ie, Dublin Rd, Oldcastle, Co. Meath