100% Irish

Area Guide For Waterford

County Waterford is a coastal county situated in the south east of Ireland and is the smallest county in Munster. County Waterford is known locally as the Deise has two mountain ranges the Knockmealdown and the Comeraghs and many rivers including the Blackwater and the three sister rivers; the Nore, the Barrow & the Suir which meet to form an estuary into the Atlantic near Waterford City.

Waterford City is the oldest city in Ireland and retains its medieval city walls, cobbled streets and historic buildings including the oldest civic urban structure in Ireland, Reginalds Tower which has stood on Waterford Quay site for more than a thousand years.

County Waterford’s coastline is a series of rugged cliffs, sand-fringed bays and attractive seaside towns such as Tramore, Bunmahon, Stradbally, Clonea, Dungarvan, Ardmore, Dunmore East and Passage East. Along the coast you will also find the county’s famous gaeltacht region, Ring or An Rinn. Moving inland County Waterford is home to many small beautiful and magical towns and villages including, Lismore, Tallow, Portlaw and Ballyduff.

County Waterford has a good road network to other cities and major towns: N9 to Dublin, N25 to Cork, and in the opposite direction to New Ross, Wexford and Rosslare and the N24 to Limerick, Shannon and Galway. Waterford City has a mainline rail link to Dublin, Rosslare and Limerick. The county also has an airport located just outside Waterford City and serves may scheduled and charter destinations across Ireland, the UK and Europe.

Need Help?
Email us: [email protected]
Write to us:
Property Steps Dublin Rd Oldcastle Co.Meath Ireland

Copyright © 2007-2019 Propertysteps.ie, Dublin Rd, Oldcastle, Co. Meath