100% Irish

Area Guide For Wicklow

County Wicklow, known as “The Garden of Ireland”, is a coastal county located on the east of the country in the province of Leinster. County Wicklow is one of the country’s scenic treasures with its magnificent hills and mountains, long sandy beaches, rivers and lakes.

Wicklow town is the county’s administrative centre. The town which encompasses Wicklow harbour is a well established and thriving town and only 40 minutes drive from Dublin. Wicklow is connected to Dublin by the N11 and has become an importance commuter town to Dublin. Bray, Greystones and Brittas Bay are other coastal towns in the County Wicklow which offer great beaches in easy-reach of the Dublin. County Wicklow is also full of lovely country towns such as Aughrim, Blessington, Avoca, Ashford, Baltinglass, Delgany, Enniskerry, Kiltegan, Newtownmountkennedy and Rathdangan.

Moving inland County Wicklow is home to many historic sites, remarkable scenery and countless pleasurable and challenging walks such as; Glendalough a glacial valley located renowned for its monastic settlement founded in the 6th century, The National Park, a mountainous terrain of 400 square miles of desolate heather-clad mountains, with rivers, perched lakes and magical woodlands and the Military Road Walk which starts in the outskirts of Dublin City, passes over the hills of Glenmalure and ends at Aughavannagh.

There are many roads routes that the run through the County. The main routes included the M50 Motorway, which connects Bray and Dublin and the N11 a National Primary Road, which connects Wexford and Dublin City. County Wicklow also has a number of railway stations on the Wexford to Dublin line.

Need Help?
Email us: [email protected]
Write to us:
Property Steps Dublin Rd Oldcastle Co.Meath Ireland

Copyright © 2007-2019 Propertysteps.ie, Dublin Rd, Oldcastle, Co. Meath